A creative retreat for experienced artists


SPACE/TIME is a paid creative retreat for experienced artists from all disciplines that asks the question “How does an artist keep developing?”

It aims to refresh participants through a stimulating examination of creativity. During the residency, we will explore how creativity can be nourished and how artists can continue to challenge themselves to develop.

The residency combines facilitated dialogue - built around a series of self-generated questions - with time for individual reflection and work. It is led by Nicholas Bone and Alice McGrath.

Participation in Space/Time is open to experienced artists and selection is through an open call process. Participants are paid a fee to attend the retreat.

The February 2018 Space/Time residency is now closed to applications. Our next retreat will be in Autumn 2018, please join our Artists Fevelopment mailing list to receive information. 

If you want to know more about Space/Time, you can watch this short film which captures the reflections of the 5 artists who took part in the 2015 retreat.

Previous Space/Time retreats

2017 (November) Cove Park.  Artists: Elaine Kordys (film-maker), Hanna Tuulikki(visual artist), Lynda Radley (playwright), Mary Bourne (sculptor), and Tam Dean Burn (actor and writer).

2017 (June) Durhamhill. Artists: Donna Rutherford (theatre maker), Ian Spink (choreographer and director), Jenna Watt (playwright and director), Kirstie Cohen (visual artist), Sophie Bancroft (musician).

2017 (February) Cove Park: Older Emerging Artists. Artists: Annie Peel, Beatrix Wood, Frank McElhinny, Ian Cameron, Kate Clayton, Lesley Wilson. Presented in partnership with Luminate, a-n and Cove Park

2016 (October) Cove Park. Artists: Anthony Green (composer), Flore Gardner (visual artist), Kirsty Whiten (visual artist), Mamoru Iriguchi (theatre maker), Maria Oller (theatre director)Presented in partnership with Cove Park

2016 (March): Cromarty Arts Trust. Artists: Anne Milne (film-maker), Annie George (playwright/director), Bill Thompson (sound artist), Merav Israel (choreographer), Ros Steen (voice teacher), Shona Reppe (performer/ theatre-maker). 

2015: Cove Park. Artists: Catrin Evans (theatre maker), Kate V Robertson (visual artist), Pernille Spence (visual artist), Scott Twynholm (composer), Zoe Irvine (sound artist). Presented in partnership with Cove Park

2014: Cromarty Arts Trust. Artists: Claire Pencak (choreographer), Ian Waugh (film-maker), James Wyness (composer), Janie Nicoll (visual artist), Su Grierson (visual artist). 

2012: Lyth Arts Centre.  Artists: Alan McKendrick (playwright/director), Christine Devaney (choreographer/director), Janie Nicoll (visual artist), Linda McLean (playwright), Michael John McCarthy (composer/musician). 


Artist Development Mailing List