Since making its debut with Tom McGrath’s The Dream Train in November 1999, award-winning theatre company Magnetic North has produced plays, music-theatre, installations and films as well as running a unique and comprehensive multi-artform artist development programme.

Restless Exploration: 21 Years of Magnetic North contains details of all the company’s work between 1999 and 2020, including images from productions and notes by Artistic Director Nicholas Bone. It also features work specially commissioned from some of the artists with whom the company has worked over the last twenty-one years.

The book is designed by Fogbank Projects with a limited edition of 200. The first 50 pre-orders will receive two David Shrigley Pass the Spoon postcards.

£10.00 + £2 p&p (UK)

£16.50 + £2 p&p (UK) with a copy of either A Walk at the Edge of the World (Magnetic North 2014), Sex and God (2012) or After Mary Rose (2009).

All proceeds will go towards supporting our work - if you would like to make an additional donation, you can do so here.

Softback book, 88pp (excluding cover)
198 x 130 mm
ISBN 978-0-9562054-3-8
Publication date: 02/03/2021 
Published by Magnetic North Theatre Productions, 2021.


We aim to deliver UK orders within 3-7 business days. 




UK (Royal Mail or cycle courier if Edinburgh resident)



Please contact us for international postage costs.



Restless Exploration: 21 Years of Magnetic North, front cover.
Restless Exploration: 21 Years of Magnetic North, front cover.