A creative retreat for experienced artists


SPACE/TIME is a paid creative retreat for experienced artists from all disciplines that asks the question “How does an artist keep developing?”

It aims to refresh participants through a stimulating examination of creativity. During the residency, we will explore how creativity can be nourished and how artists can continue to challenge themselves to develop.

The residency combines facilitated dialogue - built around a series of self-generated questions - with time for individual reflection and work. It is led by Nicholas Bone and Alice McGrath.

Participation in Space/Time is open to experienced artists and selection is through an open call process. Participants are paid a fee to attend the retreat.

Applications have now closed for the Space/Time retreat at Cove Park in October 2019. The next one will be in early 2020 and the application process will open in the Autumn. Sign up to our Artist Development mailing list to make sure you receive details when they are announced.

If you want to know more about Space/Time, you can watch this short film which captures the reflections of the 5 artists who took part in the 2015 retreat.

Previous Space/Time retreats:

2019 (March) Lyth Arts Centre. Artists: Alex Patience (interdisciplinary artist), Angus Balbernie (choreographer), Jenna Watt (theatremaker), Jo Clifford (playwright), Mark Saunders (director). Read more about all of them here.

2018 (October) Sabhal Mòr Ostaig: Teaching Artists. Artists:  Una McDade, Tina West, Martyn Dempsey, Hazel Blue, Alison Muir. Presented in partnership with SDTN.

2018 (October) Cove Park. Artists: Sharron Devine (theatre maker), Ross Whyte (composer/sound artist), Eoin Carey (photographer), Pat Law (visual artist), Nichola Scrutton (composer/sound artist).

2018 (February) Swallow Theatre. Artists: Carol McKay (author), Claire Halleran (theatre designer), Ewan Robertson (sculptor), Gillian Brent (sculptor), and Harry Harris (singer/songwriter)

2017 (November) Cove Park.  Artists: Elaine Kordys (film-maker), Hanna Tuulikki (visual artist), Lynda Radley (playwright), Mary Bourne (sculptor), and Tam Dean Burn (actor and writer).

2017 (June) Durhamhill. Artists: Donna Rutherford (theatre maker), Ian Spink (choreographer and director), Jenna Watt (playwright and director), Kirstie Cohen (visual artist), Sophie Bancroft (musician).

2017 (February) Cove Park: Older Emerging Artists. Artists: Annie Peel, Beatrix Wood, Frank McElhinny, Ian Cameron, Kate Clayton, Lesley Wilson. Presented in partnership with Luminate, a-n and Cove Park.

2016 (October) Cove Park. Artists: Anthony Green (composer), Flore Gardner (visual artist), Kirsty Whiten (visual artist), Mamoru Iriguchi (theatre maker), Maria Oller (theatre director)Presented in partnership with Cove Park

2016 (March): Cromarty Arts Trust. Artists: Anne Milne (film-maker), Annie George (playwright/director), Bill Thompson (sound artist), Merav Israel (choreographer), Ros Steen (voice teacher), Shona Reppe (performer/ theatre-maker). 

2015: Cove Park. Artists: Catrin Evans (theatre maker), Kate V Robertson (visual artist), Pernille Spence (visual artist), Scott Twynholm (composer), Zoe Irvine (sound artist). Presented in partnership with Cove Park

2014: Cromarty Arts Trust. Artists: Claire Pencak (choreographer), Ian Waugh (film-maker), James Wyness (composer), Janie Nicoll (visual artist), Su Grierson (visual artist). 

2012: Lyth Arts Centre.  Artists: Alan McKendrick (playwright/director), Christine Devaney (choreographer/director), Janie Nicoll (visual artist), Linda McLean (playwright), Michael John McCarthy (composer/musician).